Furniture Rescues

Aubusson Blue Dresser

Anytime I have a light dresser like this one to start with… I think to myself… well, I won’t distress this one since I don’t want that lighter wood color coming through. Now I have to decide which color will look best on something that doesn’t have a lot of detail but will still have a WOW factor when I’m done!

15976997_1178331532216839_2231121890620375760_n

A deep blue will do the trick! Annie Sloan chalk paint has a beautiful blue. Aubusson Blue– It’s not as dark as navy but not like a teal either.. It’s perfect!16114231_1186478098068849_8925769425988608881_n

Painted 2 coats of the blue followed by a clear polycrylic.  The clear coat alone darkens the color but I wanted an antiqued look, something with some age! My go to dark wax is Miss Mustard Seeds Antiquing wax.  It was looking better but I still wanted a little darker and a little “dirtier” around the edges of all the drawers.  I rubbed on some gel stain, a little at a time until I got the look I wanted!

16195078_1186478101402182_3397782710460977677_n

I didn’t want to paint the entire piece with the blue, so I sanded down the top and used General Finishes Antique Walnut gel stain.  Two coats of clear wax applied for protection!
I forgot to mention the hardware… all original hardware that was a pewter color.  I applied some gold gilding wax.. Rub ‘n Buff is a great product. I just applied a tiny bit with my finger and just rubbed it on lightly, not perfect so it looks like an old patina!  I still wanted a little something on top of that.. I’ve always LOVED the old green/turquoise patina on metals that have been outside… I found this metallic turquoise wax and applied it sparingly.. Now it’s done!!

Leave a Reply

