Furniture Rescues

Large dresser makeover! 

Every once in a while I score a huge dresser like this one! I was fortunate enough to have someone tag me in a post on a local FB selling site!! Luckily I was the first one to comment🙌🏻,usually never happens! I always wind up being the 10th person to comment.. NEXT!! 


Anyway.. it was kind of hard to settle on a color. I knew I wanted a lighter color.  I thought I was gonna go with white BUT choose gray! I try and find a paint to use the paint I have on hand first and I didnt have any white.. how could I NOT have white??!! 

Gray it was and I couldn’t wait to get into it! First it needed a HUGE cleaning. Lots of furniture polish on this Mac daddy! TSP and lots of sanding to make the surface able to grab the paint was needed.  I ALWAYS take out all the drawers and clean the inside as well.. you would be surprised how much dust collects in there! Crazy!!! 


2 coats of gray are on! Look at that top.. what to do, what to do?! It’s cherry colored and beat up a little. I looked to Pinterest, which is my decorating bible, for ideas! I wanted a wood top, so I found the perfect idea! 


I again turned to my arsenal of products to see what I had to achieve this look! I have all kinds of chalk paint, milk paint, glazes, waxed.. I use them all. I’m not married to any brand, definitely not an Annie Sloan snob.. I do use it and love it but I don’t say that all other options are inferior! 

I grabbed my little sample pot of Annie Sloans Coco and heavily drybrushed! Following that I drybrushed lightly some gray chalk paint! It looked good then but it wasn’t the wood color I wanted just yet! General finishes gel stain in antique walnut went on top and it completely changed the look!! IT WAS THE LOOK I WANTED!! Yippee!!! 



 The rest of the piece was heavily distressed, clear and dark wax applied! It’s amazing what some dark wax will do! I love how it dramatically changes the look! I love it!! 


The final result complete with the original hardware!! Thanks for stopping by!! 

**Amy 

Leave a Reply

